June 22, 2021

Kamil Szeremeta: I’ve Been Waiting For This, I Will Upset Jaime Munguia

Spread the love

Former world title challenger Kamil Szeremeta (21-1, 5 KOs) will step in to face Jaime Munguia (36-0, 29 KOs) in a 12-round bout for the WBO Intercontinental middleweight championship.

“I have a lot of experience when it comes to opponent changes,” said Jaime Munguia. “Obviously, it’s different at this level because the preparation is stronger and more strategic. However, I take it very calmly and we are going to make the necessary adjustments to walk away with our hand raised in ivctory on June 19.”

The fight will take place on Saturday, June 19 at The University of Texas at El Paso’s Don Haskins Center and will be streamed live exclusively on DAZN worldwide, excluding Mexico, beginning at 12:30 p.m. PT/1:30 p.m. MDT/3:30 p.m. ET.

“I take my hat off to Jaime Munguia because he has remained calm and focused on his fight on June 19 despite so many changes,” said Oscar De La Hoya, Chairman and CEO of Golden Boy.

“I am confident that he will make all the necessary changes and adjustments in order to walk away with his hand raised in victory. Kamil Szeremeta is the perfect challenge to show the world why he deserves a world title opportunity.”

In the co-main event, rising Uzbek contender Bektemir “Bully” Melikuziev (7-0, 6 KOs) will face his toughest test to date against former world title challenger “King” Gabriel Rosado (25-13-1, 14 KOs) of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in a 12-round fight for the WBO Intercontinental and WBA Continental Americas Super Middleweight Titles. 

“I am delighted to be returning in such an important fight against Jaime Munguia,” said Kamil Szeremeta. “I understand the situation. Fight night is less than two weeks away. However, I’ve been preparing for an opportunity like this, and I will make sure to take it advantage of it. This June 19, I will score the upset against Munguia.”