December 8, 2021

Kenya 3-0 Ethiopia: Rising Stars start Cecafa U20 campaign on a high

Spread the love

Kenya 3-0 Ethiopia: Rising Stars start Cecafa U20 campaign on a high

Elsewhere, Uganda’s Hippos have been held to a goalless draw by South Sudan in their opening game in Group B

Kenya started their campaign in the Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations (Cecafa) U20 Championship on a high note after claiming a 3-0 win over Ethiopia on Monday.

Benson Ochieng’, Ronald Reagan, and Enock Wanyama scored. The Stanley Okumbi-led charges started the game well but could not take the many chances they created.

However, their consistency paid dividends in the 39th minute as Benson Ochieng’ rose highest to head home a cross from the right. The defenders left the forward unmarked and he did not waste the opportunity.

It was the only goal scored in the first half as strikers looked a little rusty.

The Rising Stars continued with their push for another goal immediately after the break. Their push for a second goal bore fruits in the 46th minute. The Ethiopia goalkeeper failed to keep hold of a high ball and it fell to Ronald Reagan who had no trouble finding the back of the net.

With five minutes remaining on the clock, a long ball from the back fell to Nicholas Ochieng’ whose first touch put him past the defender. He steadied himself but with the keeper to beat, he spotted the advancing and unmarked Enock Wanyama who tapped the ball into an empty net. 

It was an excellent start for the Rising Stars who are now on top of Group C with three points while Sudan have no point. Kenya had defeated Sudan 3-1 and 2-1 in friendly matches played in Kenya at Kasarani and Nyayo Stadium respectively.

In Group B, The Hippos of Uganda were held to a goalless draw by South Sudan. Burundi are also in the same group.

Group A has the hosts Tanzania, Somalia, and Djibouti.

These matches are also used as the U17 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers with the winner and runners-up set to play in the finals.

Kenya XI: Maxwell Mulili, Fredrick Alushula, Lewis Bandi, Frank Odhiambo, Alphonse Omija, Steiner Musasia, Benson Omala, Enoch Wanyama, Matthew Mwendwa, Simon Omondi, Ronald Reagan.

Substitutes: Brian Opondo, Kevinton Machika, Sellasie otieno, Nicholas Ochieng, Collins Sichenje, Henry Atola, Ronald Sichenje, Fortune Omoto, Boniface Mwangemi.